IPL Orange Cap Winners 2023 List of Orange Cap Holders in IPL

IPL Orange Cap Winners 2023: The Indian Premier League has grown into one of the most important venues for players from all over the globe to display their abilities. Each year, the cricketers who play well in the event are acknowledged for their overall season performance. The batter who makes the most runs in a given season is awarded the prestigious orange hat. In this post, we’ll look at how all of the players that earned the orange cap performed throughout each IPL year.

IPL Orange Cap Winners

Shaun Marsh (IPL 2008)

Shaun Marsh, an Australian cricketer, got the most runs in the league’s first season. Marsh scored 616 runs for Kings XI Punjab in 2008 and became the first player to earn the Orange Cap in the Indian Premier League’s history. Marsh topped the run-scoring statistics in IPL 2008 with 616 runs in 11 matches, including a dashing century and five fifties.

Matthew Hayden (IPL 2009)

The Indian Premier League (IPL) got relocated to South Africa in 2009 owing to India’s General Elections. Matthew Hayden was the top run-scorer in the 2009 IPL, with 572 runs in 12 games. Hayden spearheaded the pace for Chennai Super Kings with some dazzling batting displays at the leadoff spot for the ‘Men in Yellow.’ Hayden had five 50+ scores performances in just 12 games, with a strike rate approaching 150.

Sachin Tendulkar (IPL 2010)

In 2010, the Indian Premier League returned to India. It’s the first time in IPL history that an Indian made the most runs. Sachin Tendulkar, who captained the Mumbai Indians in the tournament, scored 618 runs in 15 matches. Before bowing out against a strong CSK squad, the Master Blaster aided his team to the finals. Sachin, on the other hand, had a fantastic season, becoming the first Indian to earn the Orange Cap in an IPL season.

Chris Gayle (IPL 2011)

Chris Gayle was named to the RCB team as a substitute for Dirk Nannes in the IPL 2011 after being unable to get any bids in the auction. It came out being a brilliant choice for the Royal Challengers team, as Gayle was their most outstanding player in the 2011 Indian Premier League. Gayle made 608 runs in 12 matches with a batting average of 67.55, riding a wave of good fortune. He hit two centuries and three fifties in 2011 to become the leading run-scorer. Despite Bangalore’s failure to reach the IPL Final 2011, he was awarded the Orange Cap.

Chris Gayle (IPL 2012)

Gayle’s flamboyant style persisted in IPL 2012, as he started the season on a high note and proved to be a problem for the other teams. He continued where he left off in IPL 2011. The Southpaw scored the most runs by any batter in an IPL season at the time. In the 2012 Indian Premier League, Gayle set a new record by hitting 733 runs in 15 games for RCB. Gayle smashed seven fifties at a stunning strike rate of 160 with a lifetime high of 128*. This was the first season in Orange Cap history that a champion scored over 700 runs in a season.

Michael Hussey (IPL 2013)

Mr. Cricket, Michael Hussey, had been at his commanding best during the 2013 IPL season. In the 2013 IPL, the Australian Southpaw started the innings for Chennai Super Kings. He, together with Murali Vijay, played a key role in establishing some fast combinations for CSK at the top of the lineup. Hussey took full advantage of his excellent form to win the Orange Cap in the 2013 IPL. Throughout 17 matches for the Dhoni-led team, he scored 733 runs in total. His 733 runs for his side comprised six half-centuries.

Robin Uthappa (IPL 2014)

Between IPL 2011 and IPL 2014, Kolkata Knight Riders had a great run under Gautam Gambhir’s guidance. In IPL 2014, Robin Uthappa, who rose through the ranks at Kolkata Knight Riders, had become the second Indian batter to win the coveted Orange Cap.

Playing at the top of the lineup, Uthappa was a huge asset to the KKR system. In 2014, he was the primary architect in getting his squad across the finish line on the majority of occasions. He finished the season with 660 runs, scoring five fifties. KKR had a spectacular season, winning their second IPL title after defeating Kings XI Punjab in the final.

David Warner (IPL 2015)

David Warner seems to be the driving force behind Sunrisers Hyderabad’s recent success. The Australian cricketer has been the team’s undisputed leader. Warner was the leading scorer for his side in the 2015 IPL. Warner opened the innings for the Orange Army, scoring 562 runs with a strike rate of 156.54 in 14 matches. Warner blasted seven half-centuries but couldn’t help his side advance beyond the group rounds. In the seventh season of the IPL, SRH ended sixth on the scoreboard, while Warner was awarded the Orange Cap.

Virat Kohli (IPL 2016)

Virat Kohli, the captain of the Royal Challengers Bangalore, dominated the season from the start. Kohli, who had been in excellent form coming up to the IPL, got the most of it to win the tournament. Kohli not only made the most runs in the 2016 IPL, but he also shattered a lot of records.

Kohli’s incredible total of 973 runs in just 16 games saw him demolish a few of the season’s best bowling performances. He became the first player to score four centuries in a single edition of the IPL, and he also set a new record for the most runs scored in a single season. He led RCB to the finals first before Sunrisers won a top-scoring thriller in Bengaluru by 8 runs. In IPL 2016, Virat Kohli was awarded the Orange Cap, which was deserved.

David Warner (IPL 2017)

David Warner, who led his side to their first IPL victory in 2016, continued to rule supreme in IPL 2017 with his ferocious form. With Hyderabad, Warner amassed 641 runs in 14 games. He led his side to the last four for the second year in a row before losing to Kolkata Knight Riders in the Elimination. The 34-year-old finished with four fifties and a hundred to cap off another great season. So at IPL, he earned the Orange Cap for the 2nd time in three years.

Kane Williamson (IPL 2018)

During IPL 2018, Kane Williamson took up the leadership from David Warner and not only led by example, but also let his batting do the speaking. At the front, take the lead. Williamson finished the 2018 event with the most runs scored. He scored 735 runs in 17 matches, with an SR of 142.44.

He led his team’s batting throughout the season, leading them to the IPL 2018 final against CSK. The Orange Army had a great season once they were defeated in the IPL Final 2018 by a Shane Watson blinder. Williamson was given the Orange Cap for his breakout IPL season.

David Warner (IPL 2019)

IPL 2019’s orange cup was won by Sunrisers Hyderabad skipper David Warner and his team. He is the only player in the history of the Indian Premier League to earn three consecutive Orange Caps. The Australian Opener took home the orange cap the previous two years, in 2017 and 2015.

KL Rahul (IPL 2020)

In the 2020 IPL, another leader, KL Rahul, earned the orange cap. Punjab Kings skipper KL Rahul was indeed the top run-scorer this season, despite his team’s sixth-place finish in the IPL 2020 scoreboard. He has 670 runs batted in at an average of 55.83 and a strikeout rate of 129.34.

IPL Purple Cap Winners 2023: List of Purple Cap Holders in IPL

List of IPL Orange Cap Winners

Season Player Innings Average  Team Runs Strike Rate
2008 Shaun Marsh 11 68.44 KXIP 616 139.68
2009 Matthew Hayden 12 52 CSK 672 144.81
2010 Sachin Tendulkar 15 47.53 MI 618 132.61
2011 Chris Gayle 12 67.55 RCB 608 183.13
2012 Chris Gayle 14 61.08 RCB 733 160.74
2013 Michael Hussey 17 52.35 CSK 733 129.50
2014 Robin Uthappa 16 44.00 KKR 660 137.78
2015 David Warner 14 43.23 SRH 562 156.54
2016 Virat Kohli 16 81.08 RCB 973 152.03
2017 David Warner 14 58.27 SRH 641 141.81
2018 Kane Williamson 17 52.50 SRH 735 142.44
2019 David Warner 12 69.20 SRH 692 143.86
2020 KL Rahul 14 55.83 KXIP 670 129.34

Leave a Comment