IPL Purple Cap Winners 2023: List of Purple Cap Holders in IPL

IPL Purple Cap Winners 2023: Cricket, as we understand it now, has undergone significant revolutions, was subjected to a range of technical advances and endured some big difficulties both on and off the ground for a sport that is said to have originally been performed somewhere in the 16th century. Furthermore, the IPL has witnessed some heated bat-and-ball fights throughout the years, with the bowler who takes the most wickets in a season being given the ‘Purple Cap.’’

IPL Purple Cap Winners

Sohail Tanvir (IPL 2008)

Sohail Tanvir’s effort in the league’s first season has still been regarded as one of the greatest by a bowler in the history of the league. He was on fire as he proceeded on to take the most wickets and ultimately won the Purple Cap in the 2008 IPL. In 11 games, he took 22 wickets. A 6/14 versus the Chennai Super Kings was one among them (CSK). Tanvir was a key player for Rajasthan Royals (RR), who won the championship that season.

RP Singh (IPL 2009)

In the second season of the tournament, India’s pace bowler RP Singh, who was competing for the Deccan Chargers (DC), won the Purple Cap. He was outstanding all across the season, winning the Purple Cap after taking 23 wickets in 16 matches. His club, DC, ended up winning the championship that season as well.

Pragyan Ojha (IPL 2010)

Ojha was, at that time, among the hardest spinners to decipher. He was a vital member of the Deccan Chargers. He ended up winning the Purple Cap in the league’s third season, taking 21 scalps in 16 matches. Ojha bowled the event with an efficiency of 7.29 and an average of 16.8.

Lasith Malinga (IPL 2011)

In the 4th edition of the league, Lasith Malinga was unbeatable. Throughout that season, he had been at his greatest. In the fourth season of the tournament, the Mumbai Indians (MI) pacer proceeded to take 28 wickets and win the Purple Cap. Malinga is without a doubt the best bowler in the existence of the IPL.

Morne Morkel (IPL 2012)

In the sixth edition of the competition, the best pacer won the Purple Cap. Morne Morkel was outstanding in the IPL 2012 and one of the main reasons why Delhi finished first in the group stage. They came third and ended up losing the qualifier against Kolkata Knight Riders, who ended up winning the championship. In that season, Morkel got 25 wickets.

Dwayne Bravo (IPL 2013)

For the third year in a row, the Purple Cap was claimed by a CSK pacer. DJ Bravo has become the first bowler to earn the Purple Cap again in the IPL when he got the most wickets in 2015. He got 26 wickets in the season’s last match, which his side lost to the Mumbai Indians.

Mohit Sharma (IPL 2014)

In 2014, Mohit Sharma was awarded the Purple Cap. That season, the Indian bowler was outstanding with his variations and was a key cause for CSK’s outstanding performance. In the next 16 games, he took 23 wickets. MS Dhoni, the captain of Chennai Super Kings, had a lot of confidence in him that season, and Mohit did not fail him. However, the CSK pacer’s career began to deteriorate when he was released from his IPL contract and did not play for India for the following six years.

Dwayne Bravo (IPL 2015)

The Purple Cap was earned for the third time in a row by a CSK pacer. DJ Bravo got its most wickets in 2015, making him the very first bowler in IPL years to win the Purple Cap again.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar (IPL 2016)

Bhuvneshwar Kumar is without a doubt one of the greatest Indian bowlers in IPL career. In the league’s ninth season, he took home the Purple Cap for the very first time. He has 23 wickets to his name and was the team’s captain while he was on the pitch.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar (IPL 2017)

Bhuvneshwar Kumar was among the first bowlers in history to win the Purple Cap twice in a row. This season, he grabbed the most wickets, even more than he did in 2016.

Andrew Tye (IPL 2018)

In 2018, Andrew Tye had been at his finest. He was also in the best shape of his life at that time, winning the Purple Cap for the season. For Punjab, the Australian bowler was outstanding, picking up wickets at frequent intervals. Although he collected 24 wickets, Ravichandran Ashwin’s team ended in a disappointing seventh place.

Imran Tahir (IPL 2019)

Imran Tahir is without a doubt one of the best T20 spinners of all time. In addition, he is one of the tournament’s top five leg spinners. He was excellent and an important part of the CSK squad in 2019. In that season, he went on to earn the Purple Cap after taking 26 wickets for CSK. His squad advanced to another final but was beaten by MI, who won their fourth championship under Rohit Sharma’s leadership.

Kagiso Rabada (IPL 2020)

For a long time, Rabada has become one of the greatest bowlers in the IPL. In the previous season of the league, the Delhi Capitals (DC) moved on to reach the finals, and he was a big cause for it. Rabada went on to win the Purple Cap in 2020 after taking 30 wickets. In the end, DC was defeated by MI in the finals.

List of Purple Cap Winners

Year Player Wickets Team
2008 Sohail Tanvir 22 Rajasthan Royals
2009 RP Singh 23 Deccan Chargers
2010 Pragyan Ojha 21 Deccan Chargers
2011 Lasith Malinga 28 Mumbai Indians
2012 Morne Morkel 25 Delhi Daredevils
2013 Dwayne Bravo 32 Chennai Super Kings
2014 Mohit Sharma 23 Chennai Super Kings
2015 Dwayne Bravo 26 Chennai Super Kings
2016 Bhuvneshwar Kumar 23 Sunrisers Hyderabad
2017 Bhuvneshwar Kumar 26 Sunrisers Hyderabad
2018 Andrew Tye 24 Kings XI Punjab
2019 Imran Tahir 26 Chennai Super Kings
2020 Kagiso Rabada 30 Delhi Capitals

Leave a Comment