ISRO Chairman List 1963 to 2023 Indian Space Research Organization

ISRO Chairman List 2023: The Chairman of the ISRO (Indian Space Research Organization) is the regulatory head of the ISRO (Indian Space Research Organization). The officeholder basically works as a secretary to the Indian Government and an executive of the Department of Space that is responsible to report to the Prime Minister of India.

The INCOSPAR (India National Committee for Space Research) was established in the year 1962 under the department of Atomic Energy with Vikram Sarabhai as the chairperson of INCOSPAR. India National Committee for Space Research was formed into India Space Research Organization (ISRO) in the year 1969. The government of India has formed a Department of Space (DoS) and a space commission in the year 1972.

ISRO Chairman List 2023

In the table below, you can check out the complete list of ISRO Chairman from 1963 to present

S.NO ISRO Chairman Achievement         Tenure
1 Dr. Vikram Ambalal Sarabhai He is known as the father of Indian Space Program and the Chairman of Atomic Energy Commission.

He begin a project for fabrication and launch of  “Aryabhata” as first Indian satellite.

 From 1963 to 1972
2 Prof. M. G. K. Menon Known as the Advisor in the Department of Space and Indian Space Research Organization.

President of Indian Statistical Institute, Calcutta.

He has performed various Scientific work in Cosmic Rays, Particle.

 From Jan. 1972 to Sept. 1972
3 Prof. Satish Dhawan He was known as the Indian rocket Scientist.

Dhawan is the father of experimental fluid dynamics research in the field of boundary layer and turbulence, in India.

Launched a first supersonic wind tunnel in India at Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore.

He performed various experiments in remote sensing, rural education and satellite communications.

From 1972 to 1984
4 Prof. Udupi Ramachandra Rao Renowned space scientist at international level.

He has contributed to the development of space technology in India and its broad application to remote sensing and communication of natural resources.

He carries out experiments in the development of rocket technology (ASLV Rocket).

Rao has published more than 350 Scientific and Technical papers covering interplanetary physics, cosmic rays, high energy astronomy, satellite and rocket technology and space applications.

He received Padma Bhushan Award in the year 1976 and Padma Vibhushan in the year 2017.

He was known to be the first Indian Scientist to be recruited into highly Prestigious Satellite Hall of Fame at Washington DC, USA in the year 2013.

From 1984 to 1994
5 Dr. K. Kasturirangan Presently, he is the member of Planning Commission.

Director of ISRO Satellite Centre.

He has contributed in the development of new generation spacecraft, Indian National Satellite (INSAT-2) and Indian Remote.

Sensing Satellites (IRS-1A & 1B) too.

Scientific satellites development and introducing the world’s best civilian satellites, IRS-1C and 1D

Realization of the 2nd generation and introduction of 3rd generation INSAT satellites, besides initiating ocean observation satellites IRS-P3/P4.

He received Padma Shri, Padma Vibhushan and Padma Bhushan.

He has published over 200 papers both in national and international journals in the areas of astronomy, space science, applications and has edited 6 books.

From 1994 to 2003
6 Shri G. Madhavan Nair Nair joined Thumba Equatorial Rocket Launching Station (TERLS) in the year 1967 an during his administration of six years as ISRO/ Secretary, Chairman, DOS, 25 successful missions i.e. RESOURCESAT-1, INSAT-3E, CARTOSAT-1,  EDUSAT, HAMSAT-1, PSLV- C5 INSAT-4A, PSLV-C6, GSLV-F1, INSAT-4B, CARTOSAT-2, PSLV-C7, SRE-1, GSLV-F04, PSLV-C8, PSLV-C10, INSAT-4CR, IMS-1, CARTOSAT-2A, CHANDRAYAAN-1, PSLV-C9, PSLV-C14, PSLV-C11, PSLV-12 and OCEANSAT-2.

He carried out the Indian delegation to the S&T Sub-Committee of UN Committee on UN-COPUOS since the year 1998.

From 2003 to 2009
7 Dr. K. Radhakrishnan Radhakrishnan is known as the dynamic and result-oriented Manager.

From 2001-05, he was the chairman of Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission

From 2001 to 2006, he was the founder Chairman of Indian Ocean Global Ocean Observing System and from 2008- 2009, he was the Chairman of the Working Group of the Whole UN-COPUOS STSC.

From 2009 to 2014
8 Shailesh Nayak Nayak has served MoES and ISRO in several capacities namely: 2014 – Chairman, 2008- Secretary of Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), Ministry of Earth Sciences (MoES) and Chairman, Earth Commission, India. Director- 2006, INCOIS, Hyderabad. From 1 January 2015 to 12 January 2015
9 Shri A.S Kiran Kumar A distinguished Scientist and Director at Space Applications Centre, Ahmedabad, Chairman, Space Commission and Chairman, ISRO on January 14, 2015.

Helped in steering the design, realization and development of payloads and application activities of earth observation, space science, communication, navigation and planetary exploration.

Represented ISRO in international forums such as Committee on Earth Observation Satellites (CEOS ) and World Meteorological Organization (WMO) and Indo-US Joint Working Group on Civil Space Cooperation.

From 2015 to 2018
10 Dr. K Sivan Served as the Chairman Secretary, Department of Space, Chairman of Space Commission and Chairman at ISRO from January 2018 to January 2022.

Sivan helped in end-to-end mission planning, analysis, integration, design and innovative contributions in designing mission developed the consistent performance of RLV- TD, PSLV, GSLV MkII and MkIII.

Known as the chief architect of 6D trajectory copy software, SITARA.

He was awarded with Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa) from chosen universities.

Dr. K Sivan was the chief mission architect in successful launching the 104 satellites in a single mission of PSLV.

From January 2018 to January 2022
11 Shri S. Somanath Somanath is the current Chairmen of ISRO and aerospace engineer.

Apart from this, he is the Director of Liquid propulsion system centre and Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, Thiruvananthapuram.

He has contributed in the field of Launch Vehicle system engineering, Launch Vehicle Design, structural dynamics,  structural design and pyrotechnics.

12 January 2022

Leave a Comment