Param Vir Chakra Winners List 2023, Wheel of the last brave, Somnath Sharma, Vikram Batra, Bana Singh, Sanjay Kumar

Param Vir Chakra Winners List 2023: The Param Vir Chakra is the Indian highest military decoration, which is provided to showcase specific acts of courage or show great braveness in the face of danger during war. Param Vir Chakra is known as the “wheel of the last brave” and this is awarded for the most prominent bravery in the presence of the enemy.Eva Yuon Linda Maede-de-Maros has designed the Param Vir Chakra and its design includes the purple ribbon and the concept of Sage Dadhichi. The medal has four copies of Indra’s Vajra made from the bones of Dadhichi, that signifies his foremost sacrifice, which is at the national level.

Param Vir Chakra is made up of bronze in 1-3/ 8 inch radius and is attached from a bar. The back of the medal has written Param Vir Chakra in both Hindi and English languages separated by the Lotus. The medal is equivalent to the Medal of Honor in the United States and Victoria Cross in the United Kingdom. From this article, you can see the list of all 21 recipients of Param Vir Chakra winners.

Param Vir Chakra Winners List 2023

Name of Recipient Unit Rank Date of action
Somnath Sharma Kumaon Regiment Major 3 November 1947
Jadunath Singh Rajput Regiment Naik 6 February 1948
Rama Raghoba Rane Bombay Sappers Second Lieutenant 8 April 1948
Piru Singh Rajputana Rifles Company Havildar Major 17 July 1948
Karam Singh Sikh Regiment Lance Naik 13 October 1948
Gurbachan Singh Salaria 1 Gorkha Rifles Captain 5 December 1961
Dhan Singh Thapa 8 Gorkha Rifles Major 20 October 1962
Joginder Singh Sikh Regiment Subedar 23 October 1962
Shaitan Singh Kumaon Regiment Major 18 November 1962
Abdul Hamid The Grenadiers Company Quarter Master Havildar 10 September 1965
Ardeshir Tarapore Poona Horse Lieutenant Colonel 11 September 1965
Albert Ekka Brigade of the Guards Lance Naik 3 December 1971
Nirmal Jit Singh Sekhon No. 18 Squadron IAF Flying Officer 14 December 1971
Arun Khetarpal Poona Horse Second Lieutenant 16 December 1971
Hoshiar Singh Dahiya The Grenadiers Major 17 December 1971
Bana Singh Jammu and Kashmir Light Infantry Naib Subedar 23 May 1987
Ramaswamy Parameshwaran Mahar Regiment Major 25 November 1987
Manoj Kumar Pandey 11 Gorkha Rifles Lieutenant 3 July 1999
Yogendra Singh Yadav The Grenadiers Grenadier 4 July 1999
Sanjay Kumar Jammu and Kashmir Rifles Rifleman 5 July 1999
Vikram Batra Jammu and Kashmir Rifles Captain 7 July 1999

Leave a Comment